The Lost Dinner

Woops, I forgot to post about a dinner that was not at all forgettable. Luckily, MSLO is getting less stingy about reprinting their recipes online. I say “luckily” because I went crazy recently and recycled every single issue of Living that had been proudly collecting dust on a growing number of bookshelves. There are just so many new things to gasp/scoff at in every new issue, that I found myself looking less and less at backissues in order to focus on the present. Plus, as my favorite food blogger, fellow Richmonder, and unofficial mentor reminded me, you can get those damn things at any library.

So come with me on a journey to a less encumbered future!

By first discussing the recent past!

I was lost, but now I am found.

So, back in April, we made March’s meal (going back even farther, you see), despite our initial confusion at a lasagna that contains lemon slices and a shared family repulsion of olives. Our husbands, with their Italian bloodlines, begged so eloquently and poured so many negronis, that we went ahead and put those Warm Marinated Olives together anyway. I’ll ignore the fact that a million leftover olives sat untouched in my fridge for a week.

What are we? In Italy? Ha!

The Sausage, Chard, and Lemon Lasagna posed no significant problems, except constant rechecks of the recipe to make sure I was actually supposed to include actual lemon slices within this lasagna. It was all true, and it turns out when you bake very thin lemon rind, it turns into something chewy and not too bitter, a nice complement to a creamy, spicy, sausagey sauce.

They wanted lemons!

Herbed Garlic Bread is a no-brainer as well as a sure crowd-pleaser (two qualities I myself aspire to attain). Make a compound butter with parsley or whatever you want, really, and stick it between two halves of a loaf of ciabatta. Or half a loaf. Then bake that sh*t, man! We gorged so much on the bread and heavy lasagna that we didn’t save any room for dessert.

Deliciously no-brained!

Jeff and Libby, our dinner guests on the following night (don’t be too impressed, we had pizza), humored us by trying out the Lost Dinner’s Lost Dessert, Lemon Sorbet with Prosecco. It’s like this: you scoop lemon sorbet in a cup…and then pour in Prosecco! Did that move too quickly for you? I’ll break it down:

Lemon Sorbet with Prosecco

1. Pour Prosecco over sorbet.

While it was a pleasant combo of tastes, I think we all got more enjoyment out of just drinking the pure, unadulterated leftover Prosecco. None of that fussing around with spoons or what have you. Just tip it right back!

Superfluous sorbet!

James announced that this dinner was the best one yet, but we hear that a lot from these dudes, who relish their cocktail-pouring job so much that they tend to like anything. I personally felt that it was delicious but a tad too rich.

I do think of that Weekend of Dinner Guests fondly, though, as all that Campari and Prosecco would turn out to be my last. I found out the following day that my next project (to be completed in December) is a new human who is almost sure to feel strongly about olives, one way or the other.

3 comments

  1. Mindy · June 24, 2011

    Hey girls :)

    Bob and I have decided to go to St. Barts for our Honeymoon! Hope you’re jealous!

    Kiss Kiss,

    – Mins

    • Susan · June 28, 2011

      MIndy, we are so excited for you! Hope this one is the one that sticks! As a wedding gift, I’m going to remove “kiss kiss” from your vocab. You’re welcome!

  2. Jerry · August 16, 2011

    Looks fabulous gurls. Think me and Deb will be taking this page from Marthable’s dynamite cookbook when we head up to Wintergreen this weekend for Deb’s big race, and some good ole fashion relaxation.

Leave a Reply

