“Peaches, please eat!”

Each year, the hubs and I select a signature summer salad, and then make and eat that salad like crazy all summer long. We make big batches of it on the weekends and eat it all week. We take it to cookouts. We make it at the beach. Modifications are made and discussed at length. Things get competitive, but in a good way. Screw marriage counseling, people. Signature salads are the glue!

When Martha made this Peaches, Basil and Red Onion Salad on the Today show last week, we looked at each other with the type of wordless understanding that can only come from many years of living together. That evening, I came home and the salad was made, albeit with nectarines because it’s a bit too soon for glorious summer peaches. We paired it with tilapia, and it was magnificent, so good in fact that I forgot to take a photo before it was gone.

Also noteworthy: I’d never seen my housemate buy or eat nectarines or peaches before this salad came into our lives. When I was growing up, my mother would put peaches in a brown paper bag to ripen and write on the front in black marker, “Peaches. Please eat!”, in a vain attempt to get her four kids and husband to voluntarily eat fruit.  Now, I do the VERY SAME THING, although if this salad is lucky enough to be selected as the 2011 Bruno Summer Salad, I might not have to.

6 comments

  1. Shelley · May 26, 2011

    Our go-to summer salad is spinach, three-cheese tortellini, orange slices, bacon bits, sesame seeds, and a home-made red wine vinaigrette. It’s perfect all by itself, and even kids eat it up.

    • Lesley · May 26, 2011

      That sounds fantastic, Shelley. We’ll try that one too. Thanks for reading. Summer posts are the most fun.

  2. Emily · May 26, 2011

    More summer salad recipe ideas, please! I love the thought of a recipe gluing your relationship too. A solid go to that you find ways to spice up!

  3. Mary Anne Miller · May 27, 2011

    Hello–I will try this for sure it looks very pretty and delicious–I agree with your philosophy—food is love!!!

  4. Steff · June 6, 2011

    I think this will be my summer of adding basil to fruit. I have strawberries, raspberries and blackberries — they’ll all be getting the basil treatment this week. As soon as nectarines and/or peaches are in season here, I’ll be making this dish. Thank you, Marthable.

  5. Mindy · June 16, 2011

    I prefer black coffee with my peaches. And, big announcement everybody – Bob popped the question – i’m getting married! You should see the rock he gave me. Kiss kiss wink wink.

Leave a Reply

