I did try hard to come up with a title other than “Smooth Operator”

A word about Everyday Food, Martha’s pint-sized, simple-quick-food magazine. It’s meant to provide easy recipes that you can make anytime, and much of the time, it succeeds adorably. In the past couple of years, however, my interest has waned somewhat. EF begins to repeat itself, and it can get boring.

But then! The January/February “light”  issue arrives, and the world is a sparkling and wonderful place again! The Martha crew is no Heidi Swanson, but they do manage to crank out some tempting if somewhat unexciting healthy recipes in between reminders that nothing is more convenient than frozen shrimp.

This January, every food magazine on the planet had a feature on nutritious, delicious smoothies that promised to flush away all your holiday sins. I love smoothies. I hate holiday sins. I perused each article carefully, and, with a magnificent flourish that nobody saw, determined that EF’s eight smoothie offerings looked the most interesting.

Then I went crazy, made six of them, and walked around with berry seeds in my teeth for a few weeks. That’s just the way I do things around here. As sexily as possible.

I'm made of pineapple and ginger!

And now, with a magnificent flourish, the results of my research. (Oh, and if you don’t have an immersion blender, I strongly encourage you to snap one up. I use mine constantly, and I find it much more useful than a blender ever was.)

Smoothies That Tasted the Best and Made Mornings Cheerful Just Like in a Children’s Show Where Like the Mailman or Whoever Is Walking Around, Greeting Neighbors and Petting Dogs and Complimenting People’s Gardens

I'm made out of something or other!

Peach, Berry, and Spinach was probably my favorite, although it was a close contest. Because it’s more like a milkshake and loaded with calories, I’d recommend the Almond Date one for dessert. Someday soon, I will try the Peanut-Banana Espresso and Green Machine smoothie, but, as I have run out of money buying all this damn fruit, it will have to be another time. 

4 comments

  1. Susan · March 21, 2011

    Update, writing this post made me hungry, so I made the peanut-banana espresso (only with half yogurt/half water, because I didn’t have any milk), and it was delicious. Maybe more delicious than any of the other ones. And! It was a very satisfying snack.

  2. Lesley · March 22, 2011

    I’m worried about you and that blender.

  3. Mom · March 24, 2011

    Mothers’ Day is coming up and I am immersion blender-less :( Heh, heh.
    I have old copies of EF around the house propping up stuff…I just can’t seem to part with them. No smoothie recipes in mine though, alas. Yours look really good and, I have to say this, probably “taste like summer”…:)

  4. Susan Baker · March 26, 2011

    Go Rams!

Leave a Reply

