I went to the mountains and found myself…drinking cocoa with a bunch of Yankees

Usually I wriggle out of cooking duties during our annual Yuppies Go to the Mountains weekend, preferring to simply mooch off of my (very kitchen savvy) Maryland friends in exchange for many bottles of wine and 36 hours of bad north v. south jokes.

This year was no different. Consistency is my motto! But I did manage to whip up the White-Chocolate Hot Cocoa recipe from the February issue, using ingredients available solely from the tiny mountain market up the street.  This meant using chips instead of squares, skipping the coconut milk, using whiskey instead of rum, and experiencing for the first time ever the combination of Steelers jerseys and high heels. Northwestern Maryland is a very special place.

Mountain market chocolate and leftover NYE whiskey is how this is going to go

Basically, you heat heavy cream and whole milk in a saucepan over med-low heat, then add the chocolate, stirring until melted and thick.

"James, call me?"

Then, add whiskey and serve to a crowd of tired, cold skiiers.

And you guys thought I wouldn't publish this

Repeat…

Denny (foreground), Tecate box on lamp (background)

…until they all go bananas.

The author, her husband and their three sons

Success? I RATHER THINK SO!

8 comments

  1. Dennfinn · February 14, 2011

    Whaa??? You got a marthable iPhone app?? That almost makes up for you posting a pic of me with no makeup. And for the Grammys sound check fail on Dylan.

    • Lesley · February 14, 2011

      I don’t know why Dylan and Mick Jagger bother to appear on these shows.

      iPhone app?

      • Denny · February 14, 2011

        it’s “optimized to view on my mobile device” very techy!

  2. Mom · February 19, 2011

    Looks like a combination of Animal House and My Three Sons! Very fun! (Does that make them my grandsons?!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

  3. Luther · February 28, 2011

    Can the great ladies of Marthable suggest to me the proper way to bake peas? Thank you.

    • Susan · March 10, 2011

      Hi Luther! Sorry this one got by me. I asked the great lady herself (well, I searched her website), and came up with a recipe for peas and some other junk in parchment. Baking in parchment is super easy, super delicious, and super healthy, as it’s basically steaming the stuff with only a small amount of fat (if any). What do you think? (Here’s the link: http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/broccoli-asparagus-and-snap-peas-in-parchment)

  4. Aja · March 3, 2011

    This looks like a super fun weekend.

    • Lesley · March 12, 2011

      You know what, Aja, it WAS super fun. There’s nothing better than spending a weekend in the kitchen/hot tub with some of your best friends.

Leave a Reply

