August What’s For Dinner, or I Fly a Little Too Close to the Sun

Beets! Action shot!

In a further effort to avoid the September “Home” issue, which has definitely inspired me to feel both inferior and broke, I whipped up the August What’s For Dinner for my friend Cabell, who just received her Ph.D. and should therefore probably technically be referred to as “Fancybeakers.”

Dr. Cabell enjoying a piece of *SPOILER ALERT!!*

The meal seemed pretty straightforward, an updated version of something you’d find in a Betty Crocker book from the 50’s: BLT, iceberg wedge, blue cheese, and a plain yellow cake. Due to beet cooking times and a couple of mishaps, this meal ended up taking me all evening to make. Luckily, Cabell and I have known each other since we were in preschool, so she didn’t mind. Not to mention, I did just wait seven years for her to get that degree and come the heck back from Wisconsin.

Onwards!

  • Iceberg Lettuce Wedge with Blue Cheese Vinaigrette
  • Bacon, Avocado, and Tomato Sandwiches
  • Sweet Corn with Baby Beets and Basil
  • Plum Skillet Cake

Iceberg Lettuce Wedge with Blue Cheese Vinaigrette

A delightfully easy part of the menu, and when I say “easy,” I mean “I skipped it, because it sounded stupid.”

Bacon, Avocado, and Tomato Sandwiches

I would eat this meal again, and then I would eat yours.

Frigging good! Pepper-crusted bacon, avocado, tomato, and broccoli sprouts (it called for radish sprouts, but I just picked whatever sprouts looked good to me). We, er, had to go mayo-less, though. And this will sound so ridiculous, but I tried to save some money by making my own mayonnaise. I’ve done it before, and it was surprisingly easy, so easy that I figured I remembered the ingredients.

And I did! And everything turned out great! And that about wraps up this section!

Not mayonnaise.

Sweet Corn with Baby Beets and Basil

Guys, I hate beets, and I also hate cutting kernels off corn (google “trypophobia” and then don’t send me the pictures you find). Ol’ Fancybeakers really came in handy with the latter, and the former weren’t so bad after all! This side, which is just corn, beets, a little olive oil, s&p, and some torn basil, looked like it was going to be a waste of time but ended up being satisfying and refreshing! Sorta like yoga!

I was very nearly convinced to drink the beet water, which I probably deserved after the mayo incident.

Plum Skillet Cake

Zzzzzzzzz

Boring cake in a pan with some plum slices on top. Tasted fine, I guess, but let’s get a dessert that really brings out the radness of plums and doesn’t just sprinkle them prettily on the top. I had some berry sorbet in the freezer, so we scooped it out and pumped up the overall jam.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Verdict: Marthable, just consult Julia Child before making mayo, make a plum crisp instead, and…actually, just make a bacon, sprout, tomato, and avocado sandwich, then sit down, eat it, and notice how the world doesn’t end!

3 comments

  1. Steff · September 3, 2010

    Homemade mayonnaise. Seems so simple. But it ain’t. If it makes you feel better, my typical experience with making my own mayo is: Batch #1 – Fail. Batch #2 – Success. http://bit.ly/aOZPXw

  2. marthaandme · September 7, 2010

    These sandwiches are just to die for. I loved them so much.

  3. panicmonster · September 9, 2010

    this post just made me super hungry.
    so delish!!!

Leave a Reply

