Wait for me!

Has anyone ever had an overachieving sibling that just posts and posts like it’s no big deal while you try to read what are now backissues of Martha Stewart Livings in a desperate attempt to keep up?

Psych, guys, I have just been focusing temporarily on other projects, but I will say this. The AMERICA RULEZ issue (this year moved up a month to ol’ patriotic July) is still my favorite. This year, especially, with the New Way over at Living (sort of like a combination of a shopping mag, catalog, and giant blow to the self-confidence), America ruled it even harder. I gotta say, I am honestly about to buy some rope trivets from Maine and sturdy red, white, and blue cushions from wherever. Pretty sure if I had unlimited resources, I would have ordered a ton of stuff before I even put down the magazine. Then a week later when I wave good-bye to the UPS dude, I would look around at all the stuff I bought and wonder at what point I became a lady who wears crisp Madras shorts and makes her own cucumber room spray.

I love it! America rulez!

This eagley, penmanshippy clip-art decoration project is actually really appealing to me, but I'm pretty sure our forefathers would have wanted me to drink very cold wine and watch fireworks instead of cut things out and whirl them around and tape something together.

4 comments

  1. John · July 29, 2010

    I LOVE MARTHABLE! Y’all should have a local TV show. I’m not kidding.

  2. Emily · July 29, 2010

    Why local? I say national, or at least all of the Southeast, so those of us in Richmond can enjoy the jokes at Martha’s expense.

  3. Emily · July 29, 2010

    Um, I meant Raleigh. Oops.

  4. Mom · August 3, 2010

    It saddens me to think of Martha doing all that cutting and crimping, getting red and blue dye all over her, to make those watchamacallits, when she could have been joining you with the wine and fireworks.

Leave a Reply

