Halfhearted Christmas Cookie Self-Challenge #8 – Mocha Madeleines (and that’s a wrap)

And, finally, here we are at the last cookie (well, the last one I attempted to make). Friends, I present to you Ashley’s Mocha Madeleines!

I was saving these for Courtney‘s annual Christmas party because they are a fancy cookie and she is a fancy lady. The party was postponed due to unprecedented Richmond snowfall that blew all of our soft Southern minds, and as a result, I had more time to make these in a more relaxed fashion.

Everything went great, except that I couldn’t get the glaze as opaque as I wanted. The recipe firmly insisted upon GROUND espresso in the glaze (i.e. not INSTANT), but I’m not convinced that was the best choice. The consistency was a little weird, and I could have used the extra substance for thickness. Plus now I have this bag of ground espresso in my fridge that I will never use.

However, madeleines are always satisfying to make, and I have no regrets….except that I probably should have left myself enough time to refrigerate these for a bit. They were a little gooey.

Verdict: Make these for a special occasion. Use a little instant espresso in the glaze instead of ground. Refrigerate afterwards. And don’t stress out about how the recipe calls for two madeleine tins. Just wash yours (or borrow mine if you need to). Nobody has two madeleine tins. Don’t worry.

A Grumpy Note About Glaze:

I’ve made a few things lately that involve Martha glazes and all of them make my teeth want to fall pointedly out of my head. So sweet! TOO sweet. How do I keep the glaze as thick as I want without dumping more and more confectioner’s sugar?  I will muse upon this until someone helps me. (Flour? Cornstarch?)

FINAL THOUGHTS RE: MAKING ALL THESE DANG COOKIES

Lucinda’s Molasses Drops were the best. You have between now and December to worm your way into my good graces so that you can receive some. “Oh I will just bake my own based on the handy info you provided,” you say. Well, guess what, I have stolen all of your wooden spoons so good luck. Either the Lemon Wreaths, Eggnog Cheesecake Bars, or the Honeyed Almond-Cherry Shortbread (based on crowd response) were second place. I did omit Jennifer’s Graham Cracker Sandwiches, because I just didn’t feel like going to the trouble of making graham crackers just to smear them with jam, but feel free to do so and let me know how it goes.

A big “thanks for tasting” to Thara, my office, the parties of Courtney/Jon and Jen/Jonathan, and definitely Kate and Matt for continuing to allow things like this to happen:

One comment

  1. Lianna · February 3, 2010

    I have no idea how this would work with icing, but what about xanthan gum? I’ve used it for baking and sauces, and the wikipedia seems to support the idea of using it as a workable thickening agent…

Leave a Reply

