Halfhearted Christmas Cookie Self-Challenge #6-7 – I….can’t even remember anymore

OK I have returned! Rest assured that although work has been a little taxing, I have not forgotten to make cookies. In fact, I made these two while it was still 2009, but, you know how it goes. You bring yourself home from a strenuous day of Microsoft Excel or whatever, and the last thing you want to do is open up a laptop and try to remember where you uploaded your pictures. If I were Martha, maybe I would be able to schedule it on my calendar between “uprooting winter bulbs” and “glitter painting with Empress Tang,” but my calendar is more like “take some Advil” and “ignore mildew,” so here I am, catching up.

I threw together Anna’s Walnut-Rum Wafers before heading to a board game night (high five, Kate and Matt!). The most appealing thing about these was that I had all the ingredients on hand. The least appealing thing about these was that they didn’t turn out exactly like the picture, and that annoys me. Because I have control issues? Who cares! On with the cookies!

At first taste, I wasn’t impressed. I found the wafers unpleasantly candy-like, but after like sixty glasses of wine and another spontaneous dance party, we devoured these like they were being discontinued.

Shira’s Cranberry Thumbprints were made for a cookie party (high five, Jen and Jonathan!), and in my holiday haze, it didn’t occur to me that the stupid purchase I made of course-ground cornmeal (which is good for basically nothing, I have determined) would significantly alter this cookie. I had to add an extra egg yolk to get the dough to bind together, and the cookie itself was dry and too gritty. Like, seriously gritty. My husband thought they had seeds in them.

Nope, no seeds, unless they are the seeds of my own disappointment. They were well-received I guess, but I was too preoccupied tasting my friend Anne Marie’s fennel and fig cookies to notice.

Well, dang, this has been a less than enthusiastic update. Honestly, it’s too depressing to think about those heady days a month ago when work and healthy eating had been exiled into far corners of the mind. It’s time to move onto seeking out the positive as regards the month of January and not allow ourselves to languish in the past. Although, I do have another cookie to share before my quest ended in fresh vegetables, so stay tuned.

3 comments

  1. Tess · January 25, 2010

    I agree that Anne Marie’s cookies were the hit of the cookie party, but FYI, I ate the heck out of yours too. Keep ’em coming, Howse.

  2. kate · January 25, 2010

    The rum wafers were excellent and i liked them even before the wine set in and that is the TROOF.

  3. Susan · January 25, 2010

    Oh, you guys!

Leave a Reply

