It’s Independence Day in August, and I Am Apparently Really Stoked!

The following thoughts are two days late, since it is now September and I haven’t even begun to look at the new Living.

I guess this Celebrate America issue (August 09) is going to be an annual thing, unless it’s always been an annual thing and this loser over here never noticed. I could get up and leaf through my back issues to check, but I’m watching 10 Things I Hate About You, a movie I missed in the ’90s for some reason. Anyway, if you’re keeping track, which Lesley wasn’t, the America issue is also the issue that brought Marthable bloody and screaming into the world last year.

marthable-meal-8-2-09-0171

America through the eyes of Martha Stewart is, dare I say it, better than the real thing???

Notable in this issue is the DIY wooden bead jewelry, which you might be in danger of comparing to Target jewelry circa 2005, but I’m fairly certain it’s cooler. I thought briefly today about finding a craft store and buying some beads and dye but…like I said. I got this movie, I got my new puppy on my lap, it’s hard to get motivated. But that’s what Living is for, right? I mean, if we’re being honest. It’s for me to kick back with my puppy, who doesn’t judge me when I eat Doritos (in fact, the impression that I get is that she thinks I make the best decisions in the world and that Doritos are just the ticket to a perfect afternoon), and read about how awesome it is that other people do things like wonder how to get their shaker pegs to be a little sturdier.

This image and these beads belong to Martha Stewart Omnimedia, who hopefully won't mind, since I'm practically begging you to buy a subscription.

This image and these beads belong to Martha Stewart Omnimedia, who hopefully won't mind, since I'm practically begging you to buy a subscription.

Maybe I’ll get off the couch sometime in December and try my hand at wooden jewelry for the Unsuspecting Pals. [by Susan]

4 comments

  1. Kelly · September 3, 2009

    Tell me more about these “Doritos.”

  2. Lesley · September 4, 2009

    Next time we’re doing hair and make-up for these pictures.

  3. susanhowson · September 4, 2009

    I think it’s cute that you think I can look better than that.

  4. Pingback: Wait for me! « Marthable

Leave a Reply

