March 2009 Cookie of the Month – Oatmeal Cookies with Etc Etc

Marthas nice round specimens

Martha's nice round specimens

Verdict: Marthable
Real-life substitutions: 1

by Susan – I made a quick decision to throw together the March 2009 COTM – Oatmeal Cookies with Dried Apricots and White Chocolate, because all I was missing from the ingredient list were the apricots and chocolate. And also it has one of THOSE recipes, the kind where you mix some things in a bowl, drop it in spoonfuls on a cookie sheet, and throw it in the oven. Plus orange and white are among my high school colors, and our reunion is this month, so I threw this dough together and was literally finished with the baking process by the time my friend Justin was finished with volleyball practice and on his way over to get me for a drink.

My thinner, more irregular ones

Notables:
1. I flagrantly defied her recommendation to use California dried apricots and got Turkish ones, which, according to the Internet, are less flavorful but…all 4+ dozen of these were snapped up by the 12 people in my office in less than three hours, so I’m not sweating it.

2. Mine had a weird spread (as you can see from the picture above) that hers didn’t, and I definitely chilled the dough very thoroughly, so I can’t figure out what it was. Unless…unless…the reason that I chilled the dough so thoroughly was because I got distracted watching the Wire and forgot about the whole thing, so the oven preheated for an hour and maybe the old thing got too hot. Regardless, it was worth it. The cookies were still good and I got to hang with Stringer.

3. This may have been the first Martha cookie recipe that actually yielded as much for me as she claims it will. I couldn’t believe it.

4. Two of my least favorite things are white chocolate and dried apricots.

5. I ate like ten of these cookies anyway because they were delicious.

Leave a Reply

