March Martha: Prepared to be Marthabled

march09coverby Susan – OK enough of this slacking. We got busy this winter wrapping ourselves in blankets and sitting in front of the TV, but now that spring is really and truly coming, we are ready to take on Martha again.

My thoughts tend to wander, it’s true, during the real planty parts of this month’s special gardening issue of Living, but the food is looking good, and I am ready to make both the Oatmeal Apricot Cookies (COTM) and the Lemon-Yogurt Rhubarb Tart (DOTM), and I know I can do that dinner for four with only a few Marthable substitutions.

Martha never goes as crazy with St. Patrick’s Day* as she does for, say, Halloween, Valentine’s Day, or friggin Fourth of July, but her Irish dinner in From My Home to Yours appeals to me a little. Mostly because I made her version of Irish Soda Bread last year (which is one of my favorite things to eat in the world) and it was delicious, so maybe I’ll give the rest of the meal a whirl.

But Lesley’s got the big job this time around. The gardening jobs. Does that mean I have to go outside? IT’S POSSIBLE, FOLKS.

*If she shows up on the cover dressed up like a leprechaun with reddish whiskers, I will box my own ears with delight.

2 comments

  1. Lesley · March 17, 2009

    The only time I go outside is to a.) garden or b.) lurk against brick walls on side streets.

  2. Lesley · March 17, 2009

    And thankfully it’s been raining or snowing all month so I have had plenty of excuses to ignore the garden. But that won’t last. Oh no. It won’t last.

Leave a Reply

