January 2009: Martha Thinks Fresh

marthable-jan-09-002 fruitFinally cracked open Jan 09 today, more than a week after receiving it, and just like the rest of the world, Martha considers January prime time to clean up the body, mind, bank account and house (and make marmalade, evidently). This issue is as lofty as the last two but in a less decadent more, er, clean & citrusy way.

There’s talk on this end of tackling the closet organization project, which may require tools, lumber and husbands…or exactly one giant grain of salt. (“Purses are stuffed with acid-free tissue paper…and are kept in flannel sacks to protect them from light and dust.” “Windowed boxes covered in tweed make it possible to find a specific sweater in an instant”)!!!! marthable-jan-09-001 closet

Yeah. This issue is full of gems like that. It’s Team Martha on anabolic steroids. They’re kicking ass in 2009, and it’s not even 2009 yet! 

But Team Marthable is on the move. We may be five pounds heavier and five minutes slower than we were 4 weeks ago, but something WILL get organized this month. Not sure if tweed will be involved, but I’d like to think so. Stay tuned and happy new year!

4 comments

  1. Kelly · December 31, 2008

    I have a hard time telling which of you is writing the posts sometimes. But I like that.

  2. susanhowson · December 31, 2008

    You made up that tweed thing, right?? Please tell me I’m right. I haven’t gotten to that part yet. I’m steal dealing with the fact that I’m supposed to order replacements for my chipped plates.

  3. Lesley · December 31, 2008

    If only I was that clever. Refer to page 81 for tweed reference (and page 80 for reference to “fusible webbing”).

  4. Susan · December 31, 2008

    At least there wasn’t a doily article. I think they’re cutting to the chase in 2009. Also, I’m really glad to know that I can spruce up otherwise boring canvas garment bags.

Leave a Reply

